

## ST JAMES SCHOOL

## BUSHFIRE POLICY AND ACTION PLAN

(Updated January 2014)

Bushfires pose a threat to the whole community. While only four Catholic Schools in South Australia are in high fire risk areas and are subject to closure on days of Catastrophic fire danger rating, all schools need to consider the risks associated with bushfires, as staff and student travel and school activities may be affected.

St James School, Jamestown Community School and Preschool <u>are not</u> rated as having a high fire risk and therefore <u>will always be open.</u>

However, school bus services travelling through an affected Fire Ban District, with a Catastrophic rating, will be cancelled. With any cancellation of bus services, parent/caregivers will need to decide how students will travel to and from school.

St James, Jamestown Community School and Preschool will be advised of bus service cancellations the day before, when Catastrophic weather conditions in the Mid North and Flinders Fire Ban Districts are forecasted. This notification is given to schools at 4.30 pm the day before, and schools will make contact to parents by telephone.

The Jamestown Community School bus services of Canowie, Caltowie, Washpool, Whyte-Yarcowie and Mannanarie are all within the Mid North Fire Ban District. The Appila bus service travels in both the Mid North and Flinders Fire Ban Districts, hence will run on a modified route within the Mid North Fire District, when Flinders only is declared catastrophic. Parents of the Appila bus route have been notified of the modified route.

Below is a map of Fire districts for your information.

Michelle Miller Principal



- 1. Adelaide Metropolitan
- 2. <u>Mount Lofty Ranges</u>
- 3. <u>Kangaroo Island</u>
- 4. <u>Mid North</u>
- 5. <u>Yorke Peninsula</u>
- 6. <u>Murraylands</u>
- 7. <u>Riverland</u>
- 8. Upper South East
- 9. Lower South East
- 10. <u>Flinders</u>

11. North East Pastoral

- 12. Eastern Eyre Peninsula
- 13. North West Pastoral
- 14. Lower Eyre Peninsula
- 15. West Coast

Inc Councils of Northern Areas, Goyder & Clare Valley

Inc Councils of Mt. Remarkable, Peterborough

& Orroroo